gpgv: Improve documentation for keyring choices
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Sun, 3 Mar 2019 15:22:34 +0000 (10:22 -0500)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Thu, 7 Mar 2019 06:54:29 +0000 (07:54 +0100)
* doc/gpgv.texi: Improve documentation for keyring choices

--

From the existing documentation, it's not clear whether the default
keyring will always be mixed into the set of keyrings, or whether it
will be skipped if a --keyring is present.  The updated text here
attempts to describe the keyring selection logic more completely.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
doc/gpgv.texi

index a052861..2dd9576 100644 (file)
@@ -59,13 +59,14 @@ no configuration files and only a few options are implemented.
 That does also mean that it does not check for expired or revoked
 keys.
 
-By default a keyring named @file{trustedkeys.kbx} is used; if that
-does not exist a keyring named @file{trustedkeys.gpg} is used.  The
-default keyring is assumed to be in the home directory of GnuPG,
-either the default home directory or the one set by an option or an
-environment variable.  The option @code{--keyring} may be used to
-specify a different keyring or even multiple keyrings.
-
+If no @code{--keyring} option is given, @code{gpgv} looks for a
+``default'' keyring named @file{trustedkeys.kbx} (preferred) or
+@file{trustedkeys.gpg} in the home directory of GnuPG, either the
+default home directory or the one set by the @code{--homedir} option
+or the @code{GNUPGHOME} environment variable.  If any @code{--keyring}
+option is used, @code{gpgv} will not look for the default keyring. The
+@code{--keyring} option may be used multiple times and all specified
+keyrings will be used together.
 
 @noindent
 @mansect options