dirmngr: More binary I/O on Windows for CRLs
authorAndre Heinecke <aheinecke@intevation.de>
Fri, 20 Apr 2018 13:53:58 +0000 (15:53 +0200)
committerAndre Heinecke <aheinecke@intevation.de>
Fri, 20 Apr 2018 13:58:42 +0000 (15:58 +0200)
* dirmngr/crlcache.c (lock_db_file, crl_cache_insert): Open cache
file in binary mode.

--
CRLs on Windows would have line ending entries converted. This
did not cause problems in a surprising amount of cases but
can lead to unexpected and random parse / read errors. Especially
with large CRLs like cacert.

This bug has been around since 2004.

GnuPG-Bug-Id: T3923
Signed-off-by: Andre Heinecke <aheinecke@intevation.de>
dirmngr/crlcache.c

index 6eeeb8d..0b2fe16 100644 (file)
    idea anyway to limit the number of opened cache files. */
 #define MAX_OPEN_DB_FILES 5
 
+#ifndef O_BINARY
+# define O_BINARY 0
+#endif
 
 static const char oidstr_crlNumber[] = "2.5.29.20";
 /* static const char oidstr_issuingDistributionPoint[] = "2.5.29.28"; */
@@ -1139,7 +1142,7 @@ lock_db_file (crl_cache_t cache, crl_cache_entry_t entry)
       xfree (fname);
       return NULL;
     }
-  fd = open (fname, O_RDONLY);
+  fd = open (fname, O_RDONLY | O_BINARY);
   if (fd == -1)
     {
       log_error (_("error opening cache file '%s': %s\n"),
@@ -2051,7 +2054,7 @@ crl_cache_insert (ctrl_t ctrl, const char *url, ksba_reader_t reader)
       }
   }
 
-  fd_cdb = open (fname, O_WRONLY | O_CREAT | O_TRUNC, 0644);
+  fd_cdb = open (fname, O_WRONLY | O_CREAT | O_TRUNC | O_BINARY, 0644);
   if (fd_cdb == -1)
     {
       err = gpg_error_from_errno (errno);