dirmngr: Handle failures related to missing IPv6 gracefully
authorMichał Górny <mgorny@gentoo.org>
Wed, 31 Jan 2018 15:57:19 +0000 (16:57 +0100)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Thu, 22 Feb 2018 19:46:51 +0000 (20:46 +0100)
* dirmngr/ks-engine-hkp.c (handle_send_request_error): Handle two more
error codes.

--
Handle the two possible connect failures related to missing IPv6 support
gracefully by marking the host dead and retrying with another one.
If IPv6 is disabled via procfs, connect() will return EADDRNOTAVAIL.
If IPv6 is not compiled into the kernel, it will return EAFNOSUPPORT.
This makes it possible to use dual-stack hkp servers on hosts not having
IPv6 without random connection failures.

GnuPG-bug-id: 3331

--

The above description seems to be for Linux, so it is possible that
other systems might behave different.  However, it is worth to try
this patch.

Signed-off-by: Werner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
dirmngr/ks-engine-hkp.c

index 4a0b08f..a9bb936 100644 (file)
@@ -1353,6 +1353,8 @@ handle_send_request_error (ctrl_t ctrl, gpg_error_t err, const char *request,
     case GPG_ERR_UNKNOWN_HOST:
     case GPG_ERR_NETWORK:
     case GPG_ERR_EIO:  /* Sometimes used by estream cookie functions.  */
+    case GPG_ERR_EADDRNOTAVAIL:  /* e.g. when IPv6 is disabled */
+    case GPG_ERR_EAFNOSUPPORT:  /* e.g. when IPv6 is not compiled in */
       if (mark_host_dead (request) && *tries_left)
         retry = 1;
       break;