python: Make Results have a nicer __repr__.
authorTobias Mueller <muelli@cryptobitch.de>
Wed, 30 Nov 2016 07:47:29 +0000 (08:47 +0100)
committerJustus Winter <justus@g10code.com>
Thu, 1 Dec 2016 16:28:39 +0000 (17:28 +0100)
* lang/python/gpg/results.py (Result.__str__): Renamed to '__repr__'
...
* lang/python/gpg/results.py (Result.__repr__): ... and added fields.
--

So that it looks a bit nicer in the Python REPL.

It looked like this before:

In [2]: gpg.core.get_engine_info()[0]
Out[2]:
<gpg.results.EngineInfo at 0x7fb23509a240>

Now the output is

In [2]: gpg.core.get_engine_info()[0]
Out[2]:
EngineInfo(file_name='/usr/bin/gpg2', home_dir=None,
protocol=0, req_version='1.4.0', version='2.1.11')

This also applies to other results, e.g. the ImportResult.

Note that the format now changed from "<Class >" to "Class()". The
Python documentation on repr states: "For many object types, including
most builtins, eval(repr(obj)) == obj."

Signed-off-by: Tobias Mueller <muelli@cryptobitch.de>
lang/python/gpg/results.py

index 3383896..46ebeec 100644 (file)
@@ -64,10 +64,10 @@ class Result(object):
 
             setattr(self, key, getattr(fragile, key))
 
-    def __str__(self):
-        return '<{} {}>'.format(
+    def __repr__(self):
+        return '{}({})'.format(
             self.__class__.__name__,
-            ', '.join('{}: {}'.format(k, getattr(self, k))
+            ', '.join('{}={!r}'.format(k, getattr(self, k))
                       for k in dir(self) if not k.startswith('_')))
 
 class InvalidKey(Result):