Avoid unnecessary library linkage
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Wed, 8 Oct 2014 07:12:51 +0000 (03:12 -0400)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Thu, 9 Oct 2014 06:17:32 +0000 (08:17 +0200)
commit27fe067efea883629354450a042ad09e47d90ff8
treeac0482a26ef2fb557dad870518c90c753bf6c079
parent3ae6afc1336d42bd95fa0b7f5f83bd299ae26b97
Avoid unnecessary library linkage

* dirmngr/Makefile.am: Avoid $(DNSLIBS) for dirmngr_ldap
* g10/Makefile.am: $(LIBREADLINE) is only for gpg2; gpgv2 does not
need $(LIBASSUAN_LIBS)
* sm/Makefile.am: gpgsm does not need $(ZLIBS)
* tools/Makefile.am: gpgconf does not need $(NPTH_LIBS)

--

In the course of building GnuPG 2.1.0 beta864 on debian, i found that
several of the installed executables were linked to libraries that
they did not need to be linked to, which would cause unnecessary
package dependencies at runtime.

The changeset here removes these unnecessary libraries from linking.

Something similar could possibly also be done by passing --as-needed
to the linker, but trimming the depenencies seems more parsimonious.
dirmngr/Makefile.am
g10/Makefile.am
sm/Makefile.am
tools/Makefile.am