gpg: Add build and runtime support for larger RSA keys
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Fri, 3 Oct 2014 16:01:11 +0000 (12:01 -0400)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Fri, 3 Oct 2014 16:27:28 +0000 (18:27 +0200)
commit534e2876acc05f9f8d9b54c18511fe768d77dfb5
tree68b9f555d2bc0405481f0227ab2fab97aeb70b4a
parent2889a70c102271a1b6ff529bafb6748c4e773014
gpg: Add build and runtime support for larger RSA keys

* configure.ac: Added --enable-large-secmem option.
* g10/options.h: Add opt.flags.large_rsa.
* g10/gpg.c: Contingent on configure option: adjust secmem size,
add gpg --enable-large-rsa, bound to opt.flags.large_rsa.
* g10/keygen.c: Adjust max RSA size based on opt.flags.large_rsa
* doc/gpg.texi: Document --enable-large-rsa.

--

Some older implementations built and used RSA keys up to 16Kib, but
the larger secret keys now fail when used by more recent GnuPG, due to
secure memory limitations.

Building with ./configure --enable-large-secmem will make gpg
capable of working with those secret keys, as well as permitting the
use of a new gpg option --enable-large-rsa, which let gpg generate RSA
keys up to 8Kib when used with --batch --gen-key.

Debian-bug-id: 739424

Minor edits by wk.

GnuPG-bug-id: 1732
configure.ac
doc/gpg.texi
g10/gpg.c
g10/keygen.c
g10/options.h