gpg: Add build and runtime support for larger RSA keys
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Thu, 9 Oct 2014 20:54:15 +0000 (16:54 -0400)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Fri, 10 Oct 2014 11:40:38 +0000 (13:40 +0200)
commit6cabb7a2a18f871b8c3d5de58bcdc5aaa5b201af
tree14299bcebf1e30e3b69e8f53adfe08afabdb0f65
parent2ca90f78cee91c43b8d538d1cb92728f8e1452d5
gpg: Add build and runtime support for larger RSA keys

* configure.ac: Added --enable-large-secmem option.
* g10/options.h: Add opt.flags.large_rsa.
* g10/gpg.c: Contingent on configure option: adjust secmem size,
add gpg --enable-large-rsa, bound to opt.flags.large_rsa.
* g10/keygen.c: Adjust max RSA size based on opt.flags.large_rsa
* doc/gpg.texi: Document --enable-large-rsa.

--

This is a cherry-pick of 534e2876acc05f9f8d9b54c18511fe768d77dfb5 from
STABLE-BRANCH-1-4 against master

Some older implementations built and used RSA keys up to 16Kib, but
the larger secret keys now fail when used by more recent GnuPG, due to
secure memory limitations.

Building with ./configure --enable-large-secmem will make gpg
capable of working with those secret keys, as well as permitting the
use of a new gpg option --enable-large-rsa, which let gpg generate RSA
keys up to 8Kib when used with --batch --gen-key.

Debian-bug-id: 739424

Minor edits by wk.

GnuPG-bug-id: 1732
configure.ac
doc/gpg.texi
g10/gpg.c
g10/keygen.c
g10/options.h