gpg: default to AES-256.
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Thu, 7 Sep 2017 23:04:00 +0000 (19:04 -0400)
committerDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Fri, 8 Sep 2017 18:32:49 +0000 (14:32 -0400)
commit73ff075204df09db5248170a049f06498cdbb7aa
treeba3f2994a7b307b62aafde61dfa0d07db05fbfbc
parent909fbca19678e6e36968607e8a2348381da39d8c
gpg: default to AES-256.

* g10/main.h (DEFAULT_CIPHER_ALGO): Prefer AES256 by default.

--

It's 2017, and pretty much everyone has AES-256 available.  Symmetric
crypto is also rarely the bottleneck (asymmetric crypto is much more
expensive).  AES-256 provides some level of protection against
large-scale decryption efforts, and longer key lengths provide a hedge
against unforseen cryptanalysis.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
g10/main.h