kbx: Switch from MD5 to SHA-1 for the checksum.
authorWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Tue, 8 Jan 2013 17:15:49 +0000 (18:15 +0100)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Tue, 8 Jan 2013 20:55:34 +0000 (21:55 +0100)
commitb11f84b858bad867f1062977a7aba30299157e90
treea40f5fa26be022241f22aaed901a065607387928
parentbbcdb3d3cefa06b2bff367054c6518f611d7abb7
kbx: Switch from MD5 to SHA-1 for the checksum.

* kbx/keybox-blob.c (put_membuf): Use a NULL buf to store zero bytes.
(create_blob_finish): Write just the needed space.
(create_blob_finish): Switch to SHA-1.
* kbx/keybox-dump.c (print_checksum): New.
(_keybox_dump_blob): Print the checksum and the verification status.
--

The checksum was never used in the past.  Due to fast SHA-1
computations in modern CPUs we now use SHA-1.  Eventually we will
support a First blob flag to enable the use of a secret or public
HMAC-SHA1.  The first may be used for authentication of keyblocks and
the latter to mitigate collission attacks on SHA-1.  It is not clear
whether this will be useful at all.
kbx/keybox-blob.c
kbx/keybox-dump.c