gpg: Avoid publishing the GnuPG version by default
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Thu, 4 Aug 2016 20:58:13 +0000 (16:58 -0400)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Fri, 5 Aug 2016 10:23:04 +0000 (12:23 +0200)
commitc9387e41db7520d176edd3d6613b85875bdeb32c
tree276a28bfbee23060b97471e92e4d7cd7e1601467
parentc8cc804f56bfefba46641f2c7078fcd67b494bae
gpg: Avoid publishing the GnuPG version by default

* g10/gpg.c (main): initialize opt.emit_version to 0
* doc/gpg.texi: document different default for --emit-version

--

The version of GnuPG in use is not particularly helpful.  It is not
cryptographically verifiable, and it doesn't distinguish between
significant version differences like 2.0.x and 2.1.x.

Additionally, it leaks metadata that can be used to distinguish users
from one another, and can potentially be used to target specific
attacks if there are known behaviors that differ between major
versions.

It's probably better to take the more parsimonious approach to
metadata production by default.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
doc/gpg.texi
g10/gpg.c