gpg: Avoid publishing the GnuPG version by default
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Fri, 5 Aug 2016 14:47:51 +0000 (10:47 -0400)
committerJustus Winter <justus@g10code.com>
Tue, 9 Aug 2016 10:35:37 +0000 (12:35 +0200)
commitcbd0308bc70855a2dd34bda85b9b40a61199678c
tree883e8f885de58cb326159685bc7e92898de4ed9e
parentcaff669212d2465a3a387571305a7230d394c0e0
gpg: Avoid publishing the GnuPG version by default

* g10/gpg.c (main): initialize opt.emit_version to 0
* doc/gpg.texi: document different default for --emit-version

--

The version of GnuPG in use is not particularly helpful.  It is not
cryptographically verifiable, and it doesn't distinguish between
significant version differences like 2.0.x and 2.1.x.

Additionally, it leaks metadata that can be used to distinguish users
from one another, and can potentially be used to target specific
attacks if there are known behaviors that differ between major
versions.

It's probably better to take the more parsimonious approach to
metadata production by default.

(backport of master commit c9387e41db7520d176edd3d6613b85875bdeb32c)

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
doc/gpg.texi
g10/gpg.c