gpg: Add build and runtime support for larger RSA keys
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Fri, 3 Oct 2014 17:59:34 +0000 (13:59 -0400)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Fri, 3 Oct 2014 18:24:03 +0000 (20:24 +0200)
commitf952fe8c6ddf13ecca14ca72a27d1f8da6adc901
tree24af0355d5845dab0b76599406a69c2426392357
parent39c5d991a8fe9187bfbe71d0ff06630fea36fae0
gpg: Add build and runtime support for larger RSA keys

* configure.ac: Added --enable-large-secmem option.
* g10/options.h: Add opt.flags.large_rsa.
* g10/gpg.c: Contingent on configure option: adjust secmem size,
add gpg --enable-large-rsa, bound to opt.flags.large_rsa.
* g10/keygen.c: Adjust max RSA size based on opt.flags.large_rsa
* doc/gpg.texi: Document --enable-large-rsa.

--

This is a cherry-pick of 534e2876acc05f9f8d9b54c18511fe768d77dfb5 from
STABLE-BRANCH-1-4 against STABLE-BRANCH-2-0

Some older implementations built and used RSA keys up to 16Kib, but
the larger secret keys now fail when used by more recent GnuPG, due to
secure memory limitations.

Building with ./configure --enable-large-secmem will make gpg
capable of working with those secret keys, as well as permitting the
use of a new gpg option --enable-large-rsa, which let gpg generate RSA
keys up to 8Kib when used with --batch --gen-key.

Debian-bug-id: 739424

Minor edits by wk.

GnuPG-bug-id: 1732
configure.ac
doc/gpg.texi
g10/gpg.c
g10/keygen.c
g10/options.h