gpg: default to AES-256.
authorDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Thu, 7 Sep 2017 23:04:00 +0000 (19:04 -0400)
committerDaniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
Fri, 8 Sep 2017 18:32:49 +0000 (14:32 -0400)
* g10/main.h (DEFAULT_CIPHER_ALGO): Prefer AES256 by default.

--

It's 2017, and pretty much everyone has AES-256 available.  Symmetric
crypto is also rarely the bottleneck (asymmetric crypto is much more
expensive).  AES-256 provides some level of protection against
large-scale decryption efforts, and longer key lengths provide a hedge
against unforseen cryptanalysis.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Kahn Gillmor <dkg@fifthhorseman.net>
g10/main.h

index 87417ee..4850360 100644 (file)
@@ -31,7 +31,9 @@
    (i.e. uncompressed) rather than 1 (zip).  However, the real world
    issues of speed and size come into play here. */
 
-#if GPG_USE_AES128
+#if GPG_USE_AES256
+# define DEFAULT_CIPHER_ALGO     CIPHER_ALGO_AES256
+#elif GPG_USE_AES128
 # define DEFAULT_CIPHER_ALGO     CIPHER_ALGO_AES
 #elif GPG_USE_CAST5
 # define DEFAULT_CIPHER_ALGO     CIPHER_ALGO_CAST5