web: Add Snowden quote to the front page.
authorWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Tue, 4 Apr 2017 16:59:10 +0000 (18:59 +0200)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Tue, 4 Apr 2017 17:00:57 +0000 (19:00 +0200)
The term "Even if you have nothing to hide" implicates that this can
be considered be a true statement.  We better don't mention this at
all but counter directly with a good argument.

web/index.org

index 726c4a6..d015b79 100644 (file)
@@ -32,11 +32,17 @@ as well as English and German manuals.
 
 * Reconquer your privacy
 
-Even if you have nothing to hide, using encryption helps protect the
-privacy of people you communicate with, and makes life difficult for
-bulk surveillance systems. If you do have something important to hide,
-you are in good company; GnuPG is one of the tools that Edward Snowden
-used to uncover the secrets of the NSA.
+#+begin_quote
+Arguing that you don't care about the right to privacy
+because you have nothing to hide is no different from
+saying you don't care about free speech because you have
+nothing to say.   \ndash\nbsp{}Edward\nbsp{}Snowden
+#+end_quote
+
+Using encryption helps to protect your privacy and the privacy of the
+people you communicate with.  Encryption makes life difficult for bulk
+surveillance systems.  GnuPG is one of the tools that Snowden used to
+uncover the secrets of the NSA.
 
 Please visit the [[https://emailselfdefense.fsf.org][Email Self-Defense]] site to learn how and why you
 should use GnuPG for your electronic communication.  If you need