gpg: Improve the photo image viewer selection.
authorWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Fri, 17 May 2019 10:31:11 +0000 (12:31 +0200)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Fri, 17 May 2019 10:47:13 +0000 (12:47 +0200)
commit7e5847da0f3d715cb59d05adcd9107b460b6411b
treed76a31b021d2cd0fa25111e3fba2eef90357c362
parent6fc5df1e10129f3171d80cf731f310b9e8d97c26
gpg: Improve the photo image viewer selection.

* g10/exec.c (w32_system): Add "!ShellExecute" special.
* g10/photoid.c (get_default_photo_command): Use the new ShellExecute
under Windows and fallbac to 'display' and 'xdg-open' in the Unix
case.
(show_photos): Flush stdout so that the output is shown before the
image pops up.
--

For Unix this basically syncs the code with what we have in gpg 1.4.
Note that xdg-open may not be used when running as root which we
support here.

For Windows we now use ShellExecute as this seems to be preferred over
"cmd /c start"; however this does not solve the actual problem we had
in the bug report.  To solve that problem we resort to a wait
parameter which defaults to 400ms.  This works on my Windows-10
virtualized test box.  If we can figure out which simple viewers are
commonly installed on Windows we should enhance this patch to test for
them.

GnuPG-bug-id: 4334
Signed-off-by: Werner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
doc/gpg.texi
g10/exec.c
g10/photoid.c