doc: Improve documentation of --enable-large-rsa.
authorNeal H. Walfield <neal@g10code.com>
Thu, 17 Mar 2016 10:13:57 +0000 (11:13 +0100)
committerNeal H. Walfield <neal@g10code.com>
Thu, 17 Mar 2016 10:14:55 +0000 (11:14 +0100)
* doc/gpg.texi (--enable-large-rsa): Improve text.

--
Signed-off-by: Neal H. Walfield <neal@g10code.com>
Suggested-by: Bernhard Reiter <bernhard@intevation.de>
doc/gpg.texi

index 810f39d..89e098d 100644 (file)
@@ -1227,10 +1227,12 @@ the opposite meaning. The options are:
 @itemx --disable-large-rsa
 @opindex enable-large-rsa
 @opindex disable-large-rsa
 @itemx --disable-large-rsa
 @opindex enable-large-rsa
 @opindex disable-large-rsa
-With --gen-key and --batch, enable the creation of larger RSA secret
-keys than is generally recommended (up to 8192 bits).  These large
-keys are more expensive to use, and their signatures and
-certifications are also larger.
+With --gen-key and --batch, enable the creation of RSA secret keys as
+large as 8192 bit.  Note: 8192 bit is more than is generally
+recommended.  These large keys don't significantly improve security,
+but they are more expensive to use, and their signatures and
+certifications are larger.  This option is only available if the
+binary was build with large-secmem support.
 
 @item --enable-dsa2
 @itemx --disable-dsa2
 
 @item --enable-dsa2
 @itemx --disable-dsa2