python: Remove the -builtin flag for SWIG.
authorTobias Mueller <muelli@cryptobitch.de>
Tue, 20 Dec 2016 17:02:20 +0000 (18:02 +0100)
committerJustus Winter <justus@g10code.com>
Tue, 14 Feb 2017 10:19:45 +0000 (11:19 +0100)
commitaa49be1ab80c200ab6b62d33bf5d0f5aa334fc56
tree73b4e019d40bc1920b35748c20295a0cb1f9b61a
parentd35651917097ae2eee7d52396d53d010bc34df19
python: Remove the -builtin flag for SWIG.

* lang/python/setup.py.in: Call SWIG without the builtin flag.
--

The SWIG documentation
<http://www.swig.org/Doc2.0/Python.html#Python_nn28> leaves the
impression that -builtin is solely for increasing performance:

    New in SWIG version 2.0.4: The use of Python proxy classes has
    performance implications that may be unacceptable for a high-
    performance library. The new -builtin option instructs SWIG to
    forego the use of proxy classes, and instead create wrapped types as
    new built-in Python types. When this option is used, the following
    section ("Proxy classes") does not apply. Details on the use of the
    -builtin option are in the Built-in Types section.

While not wasting CPU cycles is good, it also prevents Python code being
written in the wrapper itself. That, however, may be useful to make it
easier to extend the wrapper.

Partially reverts: 856bcfe2934237011984fab0bc69800a7c25c34b

Signed-off-by: Tobias Mueller <muelli@cryptobitch.de>
lang/python/setup.py.in