Add Whirlpool AMD64/SSE2 assembly implementation
authorJussi Kivilinna <jussi.kivilinna@iki.fi>
Sun, 31 Aug 2014 10:17:24 +0000 (13:17 +0300)
committerJussi Kivilinna <jussi.kivilinna@iki.fi>
Sat, 4 Oct 2014 12:36:01 +0000 (15:36 +0300)
commitde0ccd4dce7ec185a678d78878d4538dd609ca0f
tree638f49809b7620692141ab9b87315706e99c7994
parent30bd759f398f45b04d0a783b875f59ce9bd1e51d
Add Whirlpool AMD64/SSE2 assembly implementation

* cipher/Makefile.am: Add 'whirlpool-sse2-amd64.S'.
* cipher/whirlpool-sse2-amd64.S: New.
* cipher/whirlpool.c (USE_AMD64_ASM): New.
(whirlpool_tables_s): New.
(rc, C0, C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, C6, C7): Combine these tables into single
structure and replace old tables with macros of same name.
(tab): New structure containing above tables.
[USE_AMD64_ASM] (_gcry_whirlpool_transform_amd64)
(whirlpool_transform): New.
* configure.ac [host=x86_64]: Add 'whirlpool-sse2-amd64.lo'.
--

Benchmark results:

On Intel Core i5-4570 (3.2 Ghz):
After:
 WHIRLPOOL      |      4.82 ns/B     197.8 MiB/s     15.43 c/B
Before:
 WHIRLPOOL      |      9.10 ns/B     104.8 MiB/s     29.13 c/B

On Intel Core i5-2450M (2.5 Ghz):
After:
 WHIRLPOOL      |      8.43 ns/B     113.1 MiB/s     21.09 c/B
Before:
 WHIRLPOOL      |     13.45 ns/B     70.92 MiB/s     33.62 c/B

On Intel Core2 T8100 (2.1 Ghz):
After:
 WHIRLPOOL      |     10.22 ns/B     93.30 MiB/s     21.47 c/B
Before:
 WHIRLPOOL      |     19.87 ns/B     48.00 MiB/s     41.72 c/B

Summary, old vs new ratio:

 Intel Core i5-4570: 1.88x
 Intel Core i5-2450M: 1.59x
 Intel Core2 T8100: 1.94x

Signed-off-by: Jussi Kivilinna <jussi.kivilinna@iki.fi>
cipher/Makefile.am
cipher/whirlpool-sse2-amd64.S [new file with mode: 0644]
cipher/whirlpool.c
configure.ac