random: Fix hang of _gcry_rndjent_get_version.
authorWill Dietz <w@wdtz.org>
Sun, 17 Jun 2018 23:53:58 +0000 (18:53 -0500)
committerNIIBE Yutaka <gniibe@fsij.org>
Tue, 19 Jun 2018 03:14:14 +0000 (12:14 +0900)
* random/rndjent.c (_gcry_rndjent_get_version): Move locking.

--

While the protection for jent_rng_collector is needed,
_gcry_rndjent_poll is also acquiring the lock for the variable.
Thus, it hangs.

This change is sub-optimal, the lock is once released after the call
of _gcry_rndjent_poll.  It might be good to modify the API of
_gcry_rndjent_poll to explicitly allow this use case of forcing
initialization keeping the lock.

Comments and change log entry by gniibe.

GnuPG-bug-id: 4034
Fixes-commit: 0de2a22fcf6607d0aecb550feefa414cee3731b2

random/rndjent.c

index 0c5a820..3740ddd 100644 (file)
@@ -334,9 +334,10 @@ _gcry_rndjent_get_version (int *r_active)
     {
       if (r_active)
         {
-          lock_rng ();
           /* Make sure the RNG is initialized.  */
           _gcry_rndjent_poll (NULL, 0, 0);
+
+          lock_rng ();
           /* To ease debugging we store 2 for a clock_gettime based
            * implementation and 1 for a rdtsc based code.  */
           *r_active = jent_rng_collector? is_rng_available () : 0;