random: Change initial extra seeding from 2400 bits to 128 bits.
authorWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Mon, 4 May 2015 14:46:02 +0000 (16:46 +0200)
committerWerner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
Thu, 21 May 2015 14:52:01 +0000 (16:52 +0200)
* random/random-csprng.c (read_pool): Reduce initial seeding.
--

See discussion starting at
 https://lists.gnupg.org/pipermail/gnupg-devel/2015-April/029750.html
and also in May.

Signed-off-by: Werner Koch <wk@gnupg.org>
random/random-csprng.c

index 332744b..da50fda 100644 (file)
@@ -973,8 +973,8 @@ read_pool (byte *buffer, size_t length, int level)
 
       pool_balance = 0;
       needed = length - pool_balance;
-      if (needed < POOLSIZE/2)
-        needed = POOLSIZE/2;
+      if (needed < 16)  /* At least 128 bits.  */
+        needed = 16;
       else if( needed > POOLSIZE )
         BUG ();
       read_random_source (RANDOM_ORIGIN_EXTRAPOLL, needed,